The dreaded pyramid set!

Last week I returned to the gym following a week off as I had been recovering from a cold. I planned to do 4 sessions instead of my usual 3 to compensate for a week of inactivity and comfort eating!

To my dismay, I received a message from my Personal Trainer to give me the heads up that one of the sessions was going to be a ‘pyramid’ workout (Google it!). Let’s just say that I wasn’t a fan of this! I had a flashback to how demoralised and deflated I felt after my first attempt at this, because I felt that everyone was progressing through the exercises so much quicker than me. I practically sulked my way through it and determined never to come to a session like this again!

So you can understand my initial reaction when I got the message, I thought heck, no and started my response off with “Nah”, while moaning to my work colleagues about it, however, thanks to their encouragement I decided to give it a go.

Guess what…not only did I enjoy the pyramid set, but I realised that I’m fitter than the last time I attempted it! If I hadn’t listened to the encouraging words of others, plus a positive(ish) mindset when I got there, I wouldn’t have discovered what I was capable of or how much progress I’ve been making.

This serves as a reminder of the importance of surrounding yourself with the right people who will encourage and support you. It helped that I voiced my fears out loud and that I was open to being challenged. I also decided that it’s not healthy for me to compare myself with others, as the saying goes, “comparison is the thief of joy”.

Oh, and there’s more to be proud of – I used that same mindset to attend my first official bootcamp session on Saturday at 7.30am and I loved it!!! Go me! ๐Ÿ™‚

So…what’s your ‘nemesis’ in terms of tasks or actions that you perceive as insurmountable?

Who speaks into your life when you find things tough?

Feel free to share your thoughts. I’d love to hear from you!

5 thoughts on “Facing my nemesis

  1. You go girl I’m glad that you’re thinking selfishly,no one or nothing should tell you “you can’t “proving yourself wrong is the best mindset you know I will be forever in your corner,I hey.

    Like

  2. Wow this is amazing!! So proud of you! I’m lowkey hesitant to google pyramid workout lol but we’ll see. You are a real inspiration! Keep up the good work on your journey!

    Like

Leave a comment